Student Services

At The Ilfracombe Academy we understand the need for high quality pastoral care. We appreciate that at various times through a child’s education they may experience difficulties that impact on their ability to achieve their academic potential and socialise with members of the school community.

With this in mind we have developed a range of services that are designed to support both students and their families. We liaise with all of the key agencies that serve our community so that we can access the right support for those in our care.

We have a large team of dedicated and trained staff that is available throughout the school day. Each year group has an experienced Head of Year who monitors the progress and development of students in their year group. Each Head of Year has a Pastoral Assistant who is a non-teaching member of staff and is therefore able to deal with issues as they occur. Our students do not have to wait for members of staff to be free from teaching; we can deal with concerns as they are bought to our attention.

Alongside these key members of staff, we have an outstanding SENDCO who coordinates support and looks after the needs of our more vulnerable students. Highly dedicated staff are deployed according to the needs of the individuals and tailored courses allow all students to access the curriculum and progress through school in a safe and caring manner.

The Academy also has extra provision in terms of the LSU (Learning Support Unit). This allows students to work with staff in small groups or individually to build up their confidence and ultimately their ability in a curricular area that they may be experiencing difficulties in. In addition, The HUB provides a safe place for students that may be having emotional or behavioural difficulties, allowing them to rebuild the skills that they need to access formal lessons.

Roles and Responsibilities in Students Services

Roles Name
Deputy Headteacher – Student Services Mr S Rogers
SENDCO (Special Educational Needs Coordinator) Mrs C Ball
Head of Year 11 Mr S Cronin
Pastoral Co-ordinator Year 11 Miss L Young
Head of Year 10 Mr R Tilley
Pastoral Co-ordinator Year 10 Mrs A Clinch
Head of Year 9 Mr R Whitney
Pastoral Co-ordinator Year 9 Mrs J Fishenden
Head of Year 8 Mrs R Hill
Pastoral Co-ordinator Year 8 Mr L Cochrane
Head of Year 7 Mrs S Clarke
Pastoral Co-ordinator Year 7 Mrs L Brennen
Head of Sixth Form Mr T Collins
Pastoral Co-ordinator for Sixth Form Mrs S Dickenson
Attendance Officer Mrs N Brisbourne
School Transport Mrs S Addie
Work Experience Mrs M Walker
Free School Meals Mrs C Shobbrook
EWO (Educational Welfare Officer) Mr C Robins
School Nurse Mrs J Warwick
School Nursing Service Update